Home Content Area

Home Navigator

  • Home

End Navigator



Recognition of Foreign Qualifications

In today’s working world, a premium is placed on the mobility of workers and businesses. For many professions, workers require official recognition of their foreign qualifications in order to enjoy such mobility. Within the framework of the Swiss-EU Bilateral Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons, Switzerland works closely with the European Union and has adopted the EU’s system of mutual recognition of professional qualifications issued by EU member states. Nationals from non-EU states are also entitled to apply for recognition of their foreign qualifications in Switzerland.

© bphotographer - Fotolia.com

The State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI) is the national contact point for the recognition of professional qualifications in Switzerland and can answer general questions on this topic.

From 1 September 2013 two different procedures apply for EU/EFTA citizens:

  • Recognition procedure on establishment
    If you intend to settle in Switzerland permanently and pursue a regulated profession, you must have your qualifications recognised. Detailed information on how to do this and who to apply to can be found under the heading Recognition procedure on establishment.
  • Declaration procedure for service providers
    If you are an EU/EFTA citizen and want to provide services in a regulated profession in Switzerland for a maximum of 90 days per calendar year, you must first provide a declaration to SERI. You will find detailed information on the declaration procedure, who is responsible and what you have to do under the heading Declaration procedure for service providers.

Frequently received requests

Click on one of the links below for more information regarding your specific request.

I possess professional qualifications that I obtained in an EU/EFTA state and I would like to work more than 90 days per year in Switzerland (establishment)

The first step is to find out whether the profession that you want to carry out is regulated in Switzerland. Professions are regarded as regulated if legal and administrative regulations require that they may only be pursued by persons holding specific professional qualifications. You can find a list of professions/activities that are regulated in Switzerland under the heading Recognition procedure on establishment.

Contact the agency responsible for recognition in order to begin the recognition procedure. SERI is not the only competent recognition agency for professional qualifications. Depending on the procedure and the profession, other authorities in Switzerland may be responsible for recognising foreign qualifications.
If you work in a non-regulated profession, you do not require your professional qualifications to be recognised in order to work in Switzerland.

I possess professional qualifications that I obtained in an EU/EFTA state and I would like to work a maximum of 90 days per year in Switzerland

First of all you have to find out whether your profession is one that requires you to make a declaration to SERI. You will find a list of professions that require a declaration and information on the declaration procedure under the heading Declaration procedure for service providers.


I possess foreign qualifications that I obtained in a non-EU/EFTA state and I would like to work in Switzerland

The first step is to find out whether the profession that you want to carry out is regulated in Switzerland. Professions are regulated if their exercise is made dependent on holding a degree, diploma or other proficiency credentials and they are subject to statutory regulation. You can find a list of professions/activities that are regulated in Switzerland under the heading Recognition procedure on establishment.

Contact the agency responsible for recognition in order to begin the recognition procedure. SERI is not the only competent recognition agency for professional qualifications. Depending on the procedure and the profession, other authorities in Switzerland may be responsible for recognising foreign qualifications.
If you work in a non-regulated profession, you do not require your professional qualifications to be recognised in order to work in your chosen profession in Switzerland. Your employer is free to decide whether you work here or not.

I would like to know how to find work

For questions regarding how to find work or for individual occupational guidance, contact the occupational information office in the corresponding Canton or consult the European Job Mobility Portal (EURES).

I would like to use my Swiss qualification to work in an EU/EFTA member state

The first step is to determine whether the occupation or profession you would like to carry out is regulated in the EU/EFTA member state. Contact the corresponding agency or national contact point for information about how to obtain recognition of your Swiss qualifications in the host country.

I would like to use my Swiss qualification to work in a non EU/EFTA member state

In order to work in a non EU/EFTA member state, you will first need to gather information about the conditions and procedures applying to the recognition of qualifications in the host country. Contact the corresponding agency or the Swiss embassy in that country.

I would like to study in Switzerland

For information regarding admission requirements in Switzerland, contact the corresponding institution (school, university, university of applied sciences, etc.). Additional information can be found here:

I would like to study abroad

For information regarding admission requirements abroad, contact the corresponding institution (school, university, university of applied sciences, etc.). Additional information can be found here:




End Content Area

Volltextsuche



http://www.sbfi.admin.ch/diploma/index.html?lang=en

Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

  • Accueil

Fin navigateur



Reconnaissance de diplômes étrangers

La mobilité des personnes actives et des entreprises est un facteur important dans le monde du travail actuel. Dans ce contexte, la reconnaissance des diplômes joue, elle aussi, un rôle prépondérant: une reconnaissance des diplômes étrangers par une autorité est nécessaire dans nombre de professions. Dans le cadre de l’Accord bilatéral sur la libre circulation des personnes, la Suisse travaille en étroite collaboration avec l’UE et participe au système européen de reconnaissance des qualifications professionnelles. Les ressortissants de pays tiers ont également la possibilité de faire reconnaître leur diplôme en Suisse.

© bphotographer - Fotolia.com

En tant que point de contact national pour la reconnaissance des qualifications professionnelles en Suisse, le Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l'innovation (SEFRI) est compétent pour les questions d’ordre général relevant de ce domaine.

Pour les ressortissants de l’UE/AELE, deux procédures distinctes s’appliquent à partir du 1er septembre 2013:

  • Procédure de reconnaissance lors d’un établissement en Suisse
    Si vous souhaitez-vous installer durablement en Suisse et exercer une profession réglementée, vous devez engager une procédure de reconnaissance. Vous trouverez toutes les informations utiles sur les modalités de la procédure et les attributions en la matière sous la rubrique Procédure de reconnaissance lors d’un établissement en Suisse.
  • Procédure de déclaration pour les prestataires de services
    Si vous êtes ressortissant de l’UE/AELE et si vous souhaitez fournir, dans une profession réglementée, des services en Suisse pendant une durée maximale de 90 jours par année civile, vous devez déposer une déclaration auprès du SEFRI. Vous trouverez toutes les informations utiles sur les modalités de la procédure de déclaration ainsi que sur les attributions en la matière sous la rubrique Procédure de déclaration pour les prestataires de services.

Questions fréquentes

Si vous avez une question concernant les points suivants, vous obtiendrez directement des informations en cliquant sur les liens Internet.

Je dispose de qualifications professionnelles que j’ai acquises dans l’UE/AELE et souhaite travailler en Suisse pendant une durée supérieure à 90 jours par année (établissement)

Dans un premier temps, il convient de clarifier si la profession que vous souhaitez exercer en Suisse est réglementée. Sont considérées comme professions réglementées les professions qui ne peuvent être exercées que sur la base d’une qualification professionnelle définie dans le cadre des dispositions légales et administratives. Vous trouverez la liste des professions réglementées en Suisse sous la rubrique Procédure de reconnaissance lors d’un établissement en Suisse.

Le cas échéant, veuillez contacter l’autorité de reconnaissance compétente afin d’engager une procédure de reconnaissance. Le SEFRI n’est pas la seule instance compétente en matière de reconnaissance des qualifications professionnelles. Selon la procédure et la profession, d’autres autorités en Suisse sont chargées de la reconnaissance des diplômes étrangers.
Dans le cas de professions non réglementées, la reconnaissance de votre qualification professionnelle n’est en principe pas nécessaire pour exercer votre profession en Suisse.

Je dispose de qualifications professionnelles que j’ai acquises dans l’UE/AELE et souhaite travailler en Suisse pendant une durée maximum de 90 jours par année (prestation de services)

Dans un premier temps, il convient de clarifier si votre profession est soumise à l’obligation de procéder à une déclaration auprès du SEFRI. Vous trouverez la liste des professions soumises à l’obligation de procéder à une déclaration ainsi que des informations sur la procédure de déclaration sous la rubrique Procédure de déclaration pour les prestataires de services de l’UE/AELE.


Je dispose d’un diplôme étranger obtenu dans un Etat non membre de l’UE/AELE et je souhaite travailler en Suisse

Dans un premier temps, il convient de clarifier si la profession que vous souhaitez exercer en Suisse est réglementée. Sont considérées comme réglementées les professions dont l’exercice est réglé légalement et nécessite un diplôme, un certificat ou un certificat d’aptitude. Vous trouverez la liste des professions réglementées en Suisse sous la rubrique Procédure de reconnaissance lors d’un établissement en Suisse.

Dans ce cas, veuillez prendre contact avec l’autorité de reconnaissance compétente afin d’entamer une procédure de reconnaissance. Le SEFRI n’est pas la seule instance compétente en matière de reconnaissance des diplômes étrangers. Selon la procédure et la profession, d’autres autorités en Suisse sont chargées de la reconnaissance des diplômes étrangers.
Dans le cas de professions non réglementées, la reconnaissance de votre diplôme n’est en principe pas nécessaire pour exercer votre profession en Suisse. Il appartient à l’employeur de décider s’il souhaite vous engager.

J’ai des questions concernant la recherche d’emploi

En cas de questions concernant la recherche d’emploi ou l’orientation professionnelle individuelle, veuillez vous adresser directement au centre d’information professionnelle (CIP) du canton correspondant ou au réseau européen pour l’emploi (EURES).

J’aimerais travailler dans un Etat membre de l’UE/AELE avec mon diplôme suisse

Il convient en premier lieu de clarifier si la profession que vous souhaitez exercer dans l’Etat membre de l’UE/AELE en question est réglementée. Veuillez vous adresser directement à l’autorité compétente ou au centre de contact officiel responsable de la reconnaissance des diplômes dans l’Etat d’accueil correspondant.

J’aimerais travailler dans un Etat non membre de l’UE/AELE avec mon diplôme suisse

Si vous souhaitez exercer votre profession dans un pays tiers, vous devez vous renseigner auprès de l’autorité compétente dans le pays en question sur les conditions et la procédure de reconnaissance. L’ambassade suisse sur place peut éventuellement vous aider.

J’aimerais étudier en Suisse

Les informations relatives aux conditions d’admission aux études ou à une formation continue en Suisse vous seront fournies par l’institution que vous avez choisie (école, université, HES, etc.). Vous trouverez des informations utiles aux adresses suivantes:

J’aimerais étudier à l’étranger

Les informations relatives aux conditions d’admission aux études ou à une formation continue à l’étranger vous seront fournies par l’institution que avez choisie (école, université, HES, etc.). Vous trouverez des informations utiles à l’adresse suivante:




Fin secteur de contenu

Volltextsuche



http://www.sbfi.admin.ch/diploma/index.html?lang=fr