Governance in Vocational and Professional Education and Training (GOVPET)

Professor Patrick Emmenegger (University of St. Gallen) is in charge of the GOVPET leading house, which is comprised of an interdisciplinary team of researchers from the University of St. Gallen, the University of Lausanne, SFIVET Zollikofen and the University of Cologne. Launched in July 2015, this leading house conducts comparative analyses of VET system governance in various countries. Its research findings broaden and deepen our understanding of the strengths, weak-nesses and conditions for successful decentralised cooperation, adaptability and social inclusion in VET systems.

GOVPET’s research programme examines the systemic management of dual-track VET systems. During the first funding period from 2015 to 2020, a wide range of VET system governance issues were covered. The geographical focus was quite narrow, limited to only five countries with relative-ly well-developed collective VET systems: Switzerland, Austria, Germany, the Netherlands and Denmark. For the second funding period, however, the scope of the international comparison will be expanded to include other countries (e.g. France, Norway, Sweden and the United Kingdom). In particular, GOVPET researchers will compare the response capabilities of the VET systems of those countries with those of collective VET systems. At the same time, the range of VET system govern-ance issues considered will be narrowed down to two, namely immigration and technological change. While immigration mainly affects the supply of competences, technological change mostly affects the demand for competences.

During the first phase of GOVPET’s research programme, emphasis was placed on three interrelat-ed topics that gave rise to three corresponding research priorities to be addressed in the second funding period. GOVPET will therefore continue to pursue these topics in the second phase.

For the first topic, researchers examined how stable forms of decentralised cooperation can be established despite the constant risk of a breakdown in cooperation. Among other things, the aim is to identify ways to keep private sector players motivated in the long term to continue to provide workplace training within the framework of dual-track VET programmes and to encourage them to adopt societal perspectives even when this does not serve their immediate short-term interests. In the case of Switzerland, professional organisations, which play a vital role in dual-track VET systems, are of particular interest in this endeavour. During the first funding period, a database of all profes-sional organisations in Switzerland was created to address this first topic and subsequent research priority.

For the second topic, researchers looked at ways in which dual-track VET systems adapt to new social trends. In international comparative studies, GOVPET examined how dual-track VET systems face new and critical social challenges such as demographic change, digitalisation and globalisation. Here, emphasis was placed on various VET system stakeholders and aspects. This topic will be pur-sued as a research priority in the second funding period, with a special focus on digitalisation.

For the third topic, the GOVPET examined ways in which states are able to persuade private sector players to include societal goals in their actions, particularly with regard to the inclusion of disadvan-taged people in the education system. This topic will also be further explored as a research priority, with special attention paid to the relationship between VET and migration.

https://www.sbfi.admin.ch/content/sbfi/en/home/bildung/berufsbildungssteuerung-und--politik/berufsbildungsforschung/leading-houses/governance-in-vocational-and-professional-education-and-training.html

Governance in Vocational and Professional Education and Training (GOVPET)

Unter der Leitung von Professor Patrick Emmenegger (Universität
St. Gallen) begann das GOVPET Leading House, bestehend aus einem interdisziplinären Team aus Forscherinnen und Forschern an der Universität St. Gallen, der Universität Lausanne, dem EHB Zollikofen sowie der Universität zu Köln, im Juli 2015 seine Tätigkeit. Der Fokus des Leading House liegt auf der vergleichenden Analyse der Governance im Berufsbildungsbereich. Es liefert Erkenntnisse, die unser Verständnis über die Stärken, die Schwächen und die Bedingungen für erfolgreiche dezentrale Kooperation, Anpassungsfähigkeit und soziale Inklusion im Bereich der Ausbildungssysteme erweitern und vertiefen.

Das Forschungsprogramm des Leading House beschäftigt sich mit der systemischen Steuerung von dualen Ausbildungssystemen. Während der ersten Finanzierungsperiode von 2015 bis 2020 wurde eine grosse Bandbreite an Governance-Fragen abgedeckt. Der geografische Fokus war dabei eher eng und lag auf den fünf Ländern mit relativ ausgeprägten kollektiven Berufsbildungssystemen, der Schweiz, Österreich, Deutschland, den Niederlanden und Dänemark. Demgegenüber soll in der zweiten Finanzierungsperiode der internationale Vergleich auf weitere Länder ausgeweitet werden (z. B. Frankreich, Norwegen, Schweden und das Vereinigte Königreich). Insbesondere soll untersucht werden, wie diese Berufsbildungssysteme - im Vergleich zu kollektiven Berufsbildungssystemen - auf strukturelle Zwänge reagieren. Im Gegenzug wird der Fokus in Bezug auf diese Governance-Herausforderungen enger. Zwei Themen stehen im Vordergrund, der technologische Wandel und die Immigration. Während die Einwanderung vor allem das Angebot an Kompetenzen beeinflusst, wirkt sich der technologische Wandel in erster Linie auf die Nachfrage nach Kompetenzen aus.

Während der ersten Phase standen drei miteinander verbundene Themen im Zentrum, aus welchen sich die Forschungsschwerpunkte für die zweite Finanzierungsperiode entwickelten, und die GOVPET in diesem Sinne auch in der zweiten Phase weiterverfolgt.

Im ersten Teilbereich wurde untersucht, wie es trotz der ständigen Gefahr eines Kooperationszusammenbruchs zu stabilen Formen dezentraler Kooperation kommen kann. Unter anderem steht die Frage im Fokus, wie private Akteure langfristig motiviert werden können, zusammenzuarbeiten und eine gesamtgesellschaftliche Perspektive zu berücksichtigen, auch wenn diese nicht im kurzfristigen Interesse dieser Akteure ist. Im Falle der Schweiz sind in diesem Zusammenhang insbesondere die Organisationen der Arbeitswelt (OdA) von besonderem Interesse, welche für die duale Berufsbildung zentral sind. Im Rahmen dieses Forschungsschwerpunkts wurde in der ersten Finanzierungsperiode zum Beispiel eine Datenbank aller berufsverantwortlichen OdA erstellt.

Der zweite Teilbereich dreht sich um die Anpassung von dualen Berufsbildungssystemen an neue gesellschaftliche Trends. In international vergleichenden Studien untersuchte GOVPET, wie duale Berufsbildungssysteme neuen Herausforderungen gerecht werden. Diese Herausforderungen umfassen zentrale gesellschaftliche Prozesse wie den demografischen Wandel, die Digitalisierung oder die Globalisierung. Im Fokus stehen dabei unterschiedliche Akteure und Aspekte des Berufsbildungssystems. Diese Thematik wird in der zweiten Periode insbesondere im Hinblick auf Digitalisierung weiterverfolgt.

Im Rahmen des dritten Teilbereichs geht das Leading House GOVPET der Frage nach, wie Staaten private Akteure dazu bringen können, auch gesamtgesellschaftliche Ziele in ihr Handeln miteinzubeziehen. Im Zentrum dieses Forschungsschwerpunkts steht die Inklusion von benachteiligten Personen ins Bildungssystem. Auch dieser Frage wird weiterhin nachgegangen, wobei das Verhältnis zwischen Berufsbildung und Migration im Zentrum des Interesses steht.

https://www.sbfi.admin.ch/content/sbfi/de/home/bildung/berufsbildungssteuerung-und--politik/berufsbildungsforschung/leading-houses/governance-in-vocational-and-professional-education-and-training.html