National Support Initiative ’Personalised Medicine’

Personalised medicine requires large amounts of data to be linked and analysed in order to adapt diagnoses and therapies to individual patients. In order to make this data available within the healthcare system at the quality needed for research and innovation, a sustainable infrastructure and harmonisation of the different types of data and information systems are required. This is where the federal government's national support initiative 'Personalised Medicine' plays an essential role.

Among other things, research in the area of personalised medicine focuses on the development of new drugs, the optimisation of therapies and the detection and treatment of rare diseases. Due to the ever-increasing amounts of data being generated in life sciences and medicine, this area of research is becoming more important both nationally and internationally. With the two federal institutes of technology (ETHZ and EPFL) and university research centres, Switzerland is well-positioned in this area of research compared to other countries.

Ensuring the interoperability of data

The Confederation's national support initiative 'Personalised Medicine' has been running since 2017. The aim is to ensure a well-coordinated approach to organising data for personalised medicine. One important objective of the support initiative is to create a sustainable data infrastructure that provides access to high-quality clinical data for researchers in Switzerland. A further objective is for university hospitals and universities to work together to establish uniform standards for the structuring of data so that data from various sources can be compared and linked (‘interoperable').
The support initiative makes it easier for the relevant actors to work together at national level. In addition, the interfaces between the data infrastructure to be established and related projects (e.g. biobanks, cohort studies) will also be developed. Finally, because clinical health data contain sensitive information, ethical and regulatory aspects and data protection are also important. Therefore, the support initiative includes various recommendations in this regard.

Broad-based support

The support initiative is implemented as a national collaborative endeavour between universities, (university) hospitals and funding bodies (Swiss Academy of Medical Sciences SAMS and Swiss National Science Foundation SNSF). SERI has assigned overall coordination to SAMS. Responsibility for the 'national data coordination centre', which includes the BioMedIT support infrastructure, has been given to the SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics. The national data coordination centre will prepare clinical data in a way that ensures interoperability and enables the data to be used for research purposes in a secure IT environment.

Working under a mandate from both SERI and the FOPH, SAMS has been working to create the 'Swiss Personalized Health Network' (SPHN) since 2017. SPHN bodies and activities are shown in the chart below. This initiative will continue until the end of 2024, by which time the data infrastructure should be established and the data coordination centre transferred to a regular organisational structure.

sphn-grafik_e

Funding

Half of the costs for implementing the support initiative are borne by the participating institutions and half by the federal government. The Confederation allocated a total of CHF 68 million to the SPHN for the 2017-2020 budgetary period and CHF 67 million for the 2021-2024 budgetary period. Performance agreements were signed with university hospitals to establish the infrastructure needed to ensure the interoperability of data. In addition, the SPHN has awarded funding in competitive calls for various projects that contribute to building the infrastructure.

Further information

Contact

SERI, Benedikt Knüsel
Scientific Advisor
National Research Section
T +41 58 469 61 75

Print contact

https://www.sbfi.admin.ch/content/sbfi/en/home/themen/forschung-und-innovation-in-der-schweiz/nationale-foerderinitiative--personalisierte-medizin-.html

Nationale Förderinitiative «Personalisierte Medizin»

Mit dem Ansatz der personalisierten Medizin werden grosse Mengen an Daten verknüpft und ausgewertet, um Diagnosen und Therapien individuell den einzelnen Patientinnen und Patienten anzupassen. Um diese Daten im Gesundheitswesen für die Forschung und Innovation in der nötigen Qualität verfügbar zu machen, bedarf es eines koordinierten Vorgehens, einer nachhaltigen Infrastruktur und einer Harmonisierung der unterschiedlichen Datentypen und Informationssysteme. Hier setzt die Nationale Förderinitiative «Personalisierte Medizin» des Bundes an.

Forschung im Bereich der personalisierten Medizin zielt unter anderem auf die Entwicklung neuer Medikamente, die Optimierung von Therapien sowie auf das Erkennen und Behandeln von seltenen Krankheiten. Aufgrund der immer grösser werdenden Datenmengen in den Life Science und der Medizin ist dies ein Forschungsgebiet, das national wie international an Bedeutung gewinnt. Die Schweiz ist in diesem Forschungsgebiet mit den beiden ETH und den Forschungszentren der Hochschulen im internationalen Vergleich gut positioniert.

Interoperabilität der Daten sicherstellen

Die nationale Förderinitiative «Personalisierte Medizin» des Bundes, die seit 2017 läuft, will ein koordiniertes Vorgehen bei der Datenorganisation für die personalisierte Medizin sicherstellen. Die Förderinitiative ist insbesondere auf den Aufbau einer nachhaltigen Dateninfrastruktur ausgerichtet, um für Forschende in der Schweiz den Zugang zu qualitativ hochstehenden klinischen Daten sicherzustellen. Unter Einbezug der Universitätskliniken und der Hochschulen sollen einheitliche Standards bei der Datenorganisation angewendet werden, um die verschiedenen Daten vergleichbar und verknüpfbar («interoperabel») zu machen.

Die Sonderinitiative will die nationale Vernetzung der relevanten Akteure fördern. Zudem sollen die Schnittstellen von der aufzubauenden Dateninfrastruktur zu inhaltlich verwandten Projekten (z. B. Biobanken, Kohortenstudien) definiert werden. Weil klinische Gesundheitsdaten sensible Informationen beinhalten, sind schliesslich auch ethische und regulatorische Aspekte und der Datenschutz wichtig. Deshalb hat die Förderinitiative diesbezüglich verschiedene Empfehlungen formuliert.

Breit abgestützte Förderinitiative

Die Förderinitiative wird als nationale Verbundaufgabe zwischen Hochschulen, (Universitäts-)Spitälern und Förderorganen (Schweizerische Akademie der Medizinischen Wissenschaften SAMW und Schweizerischer Nationalfonds SNF) umgesetzt. Das SBFI hat die Gesamtkoordination der SAMW übertragen. Das «nationale Datenkoordinationszentrum» mit der Unterstützungsinfrastruktur BioMedIT steht in Verantwortung des SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics. Dieses Datenkoordinationszentrum bereitet die klinischen Daten so auf, dass sie interoperabel sind und in einer IT-sicheren Umgebung für Forschungszwecke genutzt werden können.

Die SAMW hat im Auftrag des SBFI und des Bundesamts für Gesundheit seit 2017 das «Swiss Personalized Health Network» (SPHN) aufgebaut. Die Organe und die verschiedenen Aktivitäten von SPHN sind in der untenstehenden Grafik abgebildet. Die Initiative läuft bis Ende 2024. Bis dahin sollen die Dateninfrastruktur aufgebaut und das Datenkoordinationszentrum in eine reguläre Organisationsstruktur überführt worden sein.

sphn-grafik_e

Finanzierung

Die Kosten für die Implementierung der Förderinitiative werden je zur Hälfte von den beteiligten Institutionen und vom Bund getragen. In der BFI-Förderperiode 2017–2020 hat der Bund gesamthaft Mittel von CHF 68 Millionen für SPHN gesprochen, für die Jahre 2021–2024 Mittel von CHF 67 Millionen. Mit den Universitätskliniken konnte über Leistungsvereinbarungen die Infrastrukturumsetzung für die Interoperabilität der Daten geregelt werden. Zudem vergibt SPHN in kompetitiven Ausschreibungen Fördermittel für verschiedene Projekte, die dem Infrastrukturaufbau dienen.

Weiterführende Informationen

Kontakt

SBFI, Benedikt Knüsel
Wissenschaftlicher Berater
Nationale Forschung
T +41 58 469 61 75

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.sbfi.admin.ch/content/sbfi/de/home/themen/forschung-und-innovation-in-der-schweiz/nationale-foerderinitiative--personalisierte-medizin-.html