Complementary Measures in the Area of Research and Innovation

As Switzerland is currently considered a non-associated third country in the 2021-2027 Horizon Package, the Federal Council decided on 4 May 2022 to adopt measures to support Swiss research and innovation activities as a complement to the transitional measures already in place since 2021. 

The new complementary measures will help to reinforce Switzerland's position in the area of research and innovation in key scientific fields. At the same time, they are intended to facillitate international networking and help to diversify international partnerships. They will also include targeted support for international research and innovation cooperation in areas where Switzerland already holds a leading position and where there is potential for further expansion. In principle, the complementary measures will be implemented regardless of whether Switzerland's association to the Horizon package is possible. They can be scaled for both the medium and longer term. 

Priority has been given to the following two complementary measures, which will be prepared in 2022 and implemented from 2023 onwards:

Support for international research cooperation initiatives

By taking part in new international research cooperation initiatives with countries in and outside of Europe, Switzerland aims to reinforce its international cooperation activities and partnerships in strategically important thematic areas. This complementary measure will also enable further consolidation of national areas of excellence. The Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) will implement these measure. The first research cooperation initiatives are expected to start in 2023. 

National Quantum Funding Initiative 

The National Quantum Funding Initiative is intended to consolidate Switzerland's leading position in the field of quantum technology and to enhance its competitiveness and ability to work with partners at international level. This includes targeted support for research through competitive calls for proposals and the nationally coordinated development and expansion of infrastructures and technology platforms for knowledge and technology transfer. A national steering committee will be established to pool national expertise, coordinate activities and implement the National Quantum Funding Initiative. On an administrative level, the initiative will be managed by the Swiss Academy of Sciences (SCNAT). The first activities are planned for 2023. 

Contact

SERI, Nicole Schaad
Deputy Head of Research and Innovation Division
T +41 58 463 59 85

https://www.sbfi.admin.ch/content/sbfi/en/home/themen/forschung-und-innovation-in-der-schweiz/spezifische_foerdermassnahmen.html

Ergänzungsmassnahmen im Bereich Forschung und Innovation

Als Folge des gegenwärtigen Status der Schweiz als ein nicht assoziiertes Drittland beim Horizon Paket 2021-2027 hat der Bundesrat am 4. Mai 2022 neben den bereits seit dem Jahr 2021 umgesetzten Übergangsmassnahmen zusätzlich Ergänzungsmassnahmen beschlossen. 

Die Ergänzungsmassnahmen des Bundes im Bereich Forschung und Innovation dienen dazu, die Schweizer Position im Bereich Forschung und Innovation in wissenschaftlichen Schlüsselbereichen zu stärken. Mit diesen Massnahmen soll die internationale Vernetzung wie auch die Diversifizierung der internationalen Partnerschaften gefördert werden. Sie knüpfen bei der internationalen Forschungs- und Innovationszusammenarbeit dort an, wo die Schweiz bereits eine Spitzenposition innehat und das Potential zu einem weiteren Ausbau besteht. Die Ergänzungsmassnahmen werden vom Prinzip her unabhängig davon realisiert, ob eine Assoziierung der Schweiz am Horizon-Paket möglich sein wird. Sie sind mittel- und längerfristig skalierbar. 

Folgende zwei priorisierte Ergänzungsmassnahmen werden im Jahr 2022 vorbereitet und ab 2023 umgesetzt:

Förderung von internationalen Forschungskooperationen 

Mit neuen internationalen Forschungskooperationen mit Ländern innerhalb und ausserhalb Europa will die Schweiz in strategisch wichtigen Themenbereichen ihre internationale Zusammenarbeit und Partnerschaften stärken. Die Massnahme bietet die Chance, auch die nationalen Exzellenzbereiche weiter zu festigen. Die Umsetzung der Massnahme erfolgt durch den Schweizerischen Nationalfonds SNF. Die ersten Forschungskooperationen werden voraussichtlich 2023 starten. 

Nationale Förderinitiative Quantum 

Die Nationale Förderinitiative Quantum hat zum Ziel, die Spitzenposition der Schweiz im Bereich der Quantentechnologie und die Konkurrenz- wie auch Anschlussfähigkeit auf internationaler Ebene zu stärken. Sie umfasst die gezielte Stärkung der Forschung über kompetitive Ausschreibungen und den national koordinierten Auf- und Ausbau von Infrastrukturen- und Technologieplattformen für den Wissens- und Technologietransfer. Das einzurichtende nationale Steuergremium soll die nationalen Kompetenzen bündeln und die Aktivitäten koordinieren. Dieses Gremium ist für die Umsetzung der Initiative verantwortlich. Administrativ wird die Initiative bei der Schweizerischen Akademie der Naturwissenschaften SCNAT angesiedelt. Die ersten Aktivitäten sind für 2023 vorgesehen. 

Kontakt

SBFI, Nicole Schaad
Stv. Leiterin Abteilung
Forschung und Innovation
T +41 58 463 59 85

https://www.sbfi.admin.ch/content/sbfi/de/home/themen/forschung-und-innovation-in-der-schweiz/spezifische_foerdermassnahmen.html