Facts and Figures on the Swiss Participation in the eighth European Framework Programme for Research and Innovation

(Last update: 10 February 2021)
The Swiss Parliament has mandated the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI) to submit regular reports on the Swiss participation in the European Union’s framework programmes for research and innovation. This summary presents the main facts and figures on Switzerland's participation in the 8th framework programme for research and innovation (Horizon 2020) and in the Euratom Programme since 2014, sometimes in comparison with the 7th framework programme (FP7). These are updated statistics taken from the report entitled, ‘Swiss Participation in European Research Framework Programmes - Facts and Figures 2018’. The statistics are based on official data from the European Union as of 3 September 2020.

Overview

Table 1. Number of Swiss participations, coordinations and contributions, in relation to overall participation

  FP7 & Euratom (2007-2013) (as at October 2019) Horizon 2020 & Euratom (2014-2020) (as at July 2015) Horizon 2020 & Euratom (2014-2020) (as at March 2018) Horizon 2020 & Euratom (2014-2020) (as at September 2020)
Swiss participations 3.2% (4382) 1.8% (318) 2.4% (1942) 2.8% (4153)
Contributions to Swiss participants 4.1% (2503 m CHF) 2.2% (172 m CHF) 3.5% (1141 m CHF) 4.0% (2585 m CHF)
Swiss coordinations 3.9% (997) 0.3% (15) 2.6% (422) 3.9% (1185)

Note:
Values in brackets represent the absolute number of participations, contributions and coordinations.
This is an update of the table presented in the report entitled ‘Swiss Participation in European Research Framework Programmes - Facts and Figures 2018’, page 6.

Swiss participations and coordinations by type of institution

Swiss participations by programme area

Switzerland and Europe compared

https://www.sbfi.admin.ch/content/sbfi/en/home/themen/internationale-forschungs--und-innovationszusammenarbeit/forschungsrahmenprogramme-der-europaeischen-union/horizon-2020/z-f-schweizer-beteiligung.html

Zahlen und Fakten zur Beteiligung der Schweiz am 8. Europäischen Forschungsrahmenprogramm

(Stand 20. Mai 2020)
Das SBFI erstattet gemäss Auftrag des Schweizer Parlaments regelmässig Bericht über die Schweizer Beteiligung an den Rahmenprogrammen der Europäischen Union für Forschung und Innovation (FRP). Die vorliegende Zusammenstellung umfasst die wichtigsten Zahlen und Fakten zur Beteiligung der Schweiz am aktuell laufenden 8. Europäischen Rahmenprogramm für Forschung und Innovation (Horizon 2020) und am Euratom-Programm seit 2014. Es handelt sich dabei um aktualisierte Statistiken aus dem Bericht Beteiligung der Schweiz an den Europäischen Forschungsrahmenprogrammen – Zahlen und Fakten 2018. Die Grundlage für diese Statistiken bilden die offiziellen Zahlen der Europäischen Union vom 2. Februar 2020.

Übersicht

Tabelle 1: Anzahl Schweizer Beteiligungen, Koordinationen und Beiträge, relativ zur globalen Beteiligung

  7. FRP  & Euratom (2007-2013) (Stand Nov. 2015) Horizon 2020 & Euratom (2014-2020) (Stand Juli 2015) Horizon 2020 & Euratom (2014-2020) (Stand März 2018) Horizon 2020 & Euratom (2014-2020) (Stand Feb. 2020)
Anteil der Schweizer Beteiligungen 3,2% (4323) 1,8% (318) 2,4% (1942) 2,7% (3577)
Anteil der erhaltenen Beiträge 4,3% (2496 Mio. CHF) 2,2% (172 Mio. CHF) 3,5% (1141 Mio. CHF) 3,9% (2203 Mio. CHF)
Anteil der Schweizer Koordinationen 3,9% (981) 0,3% (15) 2,6% (422) 3,6% (985)

Hinweis:
Werte in Klammern stellen die absolute Anzahl Beteiligungen, Beiträge und Koordinationen dar.
Diese Darstellung ist eine Fortführung aus dem Bericht Beteiligung der Schweiz an den Europäischen Forschungsrahmenprogrammen – Zahlen und Fakten 2018, Seite 6.

Schweizer Beteiligungen und Koordinationen nach Institutionstyp

Schweizer Beteiligung nach Programmbereichen

Die Schweiz im europäischen Vergleich

https://www.sbfi.admin.ch/content/sbfi/de/home/themen/internationale-forschungs--und-innovationszusammenarbeit/forschungsrahmenprogramme-der-europaeischen-union/horizon-2020/z-f-schweizer-beteiligung.html