Bilateral Recognition Agreements

Encouraging the international recognition of Swiss qualifications is one of the objectives of the Federal Council's international strategy for education, research and innovation. The aim is to raise the international profile of Swiss educational institutions. This is achieved by extending agreements on the mutual recognition of vocational and professional qualifications with countries or territories with comparable education systems. The Canadian Province of Quebec was the first non-European region to sign an agreement with Switzerland on the recognition of vocational and professional qualifications.

For countries that are already signatories of the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons (AFMP), bilateral recognition agreements facilitate recognition beyond the general rules set out in Annex III of the AFMP. Holders of qualifications covered by these agreements thus benefit from even simpler and faster recognition procedures. Currently, such bilateral agreements exist with Germany and the Principality of Liechtenstein.

Germany

Vocational and professional qualifications regulated by federal law in Switzerland and Germany can be recognised as equivalent in a simplified procedure if the following requirements are met:

  • The qualifications apply to comparable professional activities. There are no significant differences in the competence profiles.
  • The qualifications are on the same system level according to the annex to the agreement.
  • At the time the application is made, the statutory basis for the qualification to be recognised is in force in the country of the examining authority.

These criteria must be met cumulatively for a German qualification to be recognised in the simplified procedure. Holders of qualifications covered by the agreement can apply for recognition under the standard procedure; the simplified procedure is automatically applied if the requirements are met.

Principality of Liechtenstein

Upper-secondary level vocational qualifications in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein are equivalent if the following requirements are met:

  • the relevant documents pertaining to the qualifications are identical apart from the titles; and
  • the training and the qualification procedure for obtaining the qualifications were conducted as stated in the relevant documents.

The qualifications mutually recognised as equivalent are listed in the annex to the agreement with Liechtenstein. This list is regularly reviewed and supplemented. Holders of an equivalent qualification do not have to submit an application to the competent authorities under this system of automatic recognition.

Agreement with the Principality of Liechtenstein (in german)

The possibilities of concluding further bilateral recognition agreements of this kind are considered on an ongoing basis.

Quebec

Switzerland and the Canadian Province of Quebec signed a memorandum of understanding ('Entente') on the mutual recognition of vocational and professional qualifications. For Switzerland, this was the first time that such an agreement had been reached with a non-European region.

Quebec is an ideal partner, as it shares a common language (French) with Switzerland, has a similar population size and similar economic structures.

The Entente signed on 14 June 2022 has already come into effect. It is accompanied by five specific mutual recognition agreements ('arrangement de reconnaissance mutuelle'), which will come into effect at the end of 2022. These five MRAs describe in detail the conditions that must be met by qualification holders in order to gain access to the labour market of the respective host country/region. The first package of MRAs covers the following five professional activities:

  • social worker
  • dental hygienist
  • dental technician
  • medico-technical radiologist
  • midwife

Other professional activities may be added to this list at a later time.

For the five professional activities mentioned above, detailed information is already available – even prior to commencement of training – on how holders of the corresponding Swiss qualifications can obtain the legal right to work in Quebec after graduation.

https://www.sbfi.admin.ch/content/sbfi/en/home/bildung/diploma/anerkennungsverfahren-bei-niederlassung/rechtliche-grundlagen-der-diplomanerkennung/bilaterale-anerkennungsabkommen.html

Accords de reconnaissance bilatéraux

L’encouragement de la reconnaissance internationale des qualifications suisses est l’un des objectifs de la stratégie internationale du Conseil fédéral dans le domaine de la formation, de la recherche et de l’innovation. La réalisation de cet objectif permet de renforcer la visibilité des établissements de formations suisses à l’échelle internationale. Il passe par l’extension des accords prévoyant la reconnaissance mutuelle des qualifications professionnelles avec des pays ou territoires dotés de systèmes de formation comparables. Le premier accord conclu avec un territoire extra-européen l’a été avec le Québec.

Pour les pays qui appliquent déjà l’Accord sur la libre circulation des personnes (ALCP), ces accords vont au-delà des règles générales selon l'annexe III de l'ALCP et prévoient des conditions de reconnaissance encore plus faciles. Les titulaires de diplômes couverts par ces accords bénéficient ainsi de procédures de reconnaissance plus simples et plus rapides. Actuellement, de tels accords bilatéraux existent avec l'Allemagne et la Principauté du Liechtenstein.

Allemagne

Les diplômes de la formation professionnelle qui sont réglés par le droit fédéral en Suisse et en Allemagne peuvent être reconnus comme équivalents dans le cadre d'une procédure facilitée si les conditions suivantes sont remplies:

  • Les diplômes professionnels habilitent à exercer des activités professionnelles comparables. Leurs profils professionnels ne présentent aucune différence fondamentale.
  • Les diplômes professionnels concernés se situent au même niveau systémique selon l’annexe de l’accord.
  • Au moment du dépôt de la demande, les bases légales du diplôme professionnel servant à constater l’équivalence sont en vigueur du coté de l'autorité examinatrice.

Pour la reconnaissance facilitée d'un diplôme allemand de la formation professionnelle, ces critères doivent être remplis de manière cumulative. Les titulaires des diplômes couverts par l'accord peuvent demander une reconnaissance dans le cadre des procédures habituelles. La procédure simplifiée est automatiquement appliquée si les conditions sont remplies.

Principauté du Liechtenstein

Les diplômes de la formation professionnelle initiale en Suisse et dans la Principauté du Liechtenstein (certificats de capacité et attestations de formation professionnelle) sont équivalents si les conditions suivantes sont remplies:

  • Les documents pertinents correspondant aux diplômes sont identiques, à l'exception des titres; et
  • la formation et la procédure de qualification pour l'obtention des diplômes ont été effectuées conformément aux documents pertinents.

Les diplômes mutuellement reconnus comme équivalents sont énumérés dans l'annexe de l'accord avec le Liechtenstein. Cette liste est régulièrement revue et complétée. Les titulaires d’un diplôme correspondant ne doivent pas soumettre une demande aux autorités compétentes dans le cadre de ce système de reconnaissance automatique.

Accord avec la Principauté du Liechtenstein

Les possibilités de conclure d'autres accords de reconnaissance bilatéraux de ce type sont régulièrement examinées.

Québec

La Suisse et le Québec ont conclu une Entente sur la reconnaissance mutuelle des qualifications professionnelles. Pour la Suisse, il s’agit du premier accord sur la reconnaissance des qualifications professionnelles avec un territoire extra-européen.

Le Québec représente un partenaire idéal puisqu’il partage avec notre pays la langue française, la taille de la population et les structures économiques.

L’Entente, signée le 14 juin 2022, est déjà entrée en vigueur. Elle est accompagnée de cinq Arrangements de reconnaissance mutuelle (ARM), qui entreront en vigueur à la fin de l’année 2022. Ces cinq ARM règlent les détails relatifs à chaque profession et décrivent à quelles conditions les diplômés des deux parties auront accès au marché du travail. Même si de nouvelles professions pourraient être amenées à compléter cette liste à l’avenir, ils concernent pour l’instant les cinq professions suivantes:

  • les assistants sociaux
  • les hygiénistes dentaires
  • les techniciens dentistes
  • les techniciens en radiologie médicale
  • les sages-femmes.

Pour ces cinq professions, il est désormais possible de savoir, avant même de débuter sa formation, sous quelles modalités il sera possible d’acquérir une expérience professionnelle au Québec une fois un diplôme suisse obtenu.

https://www.sbfi.admin.ch/content/sbfi/fr/home/bildung/diploma/anerkennungsverfahren-bei-niederlassung/rechtliche-grundlagen-der-diplomanerkennung/bilaterale-anerkennungsabkommen.html