Demand for high-tech from Swiss SMEs

International research infrastructures

Imbach
Swiss industry regularly secures contracts from international research infrastructures. For example, Imbach & Cie AG, based in the canton of Lucerne, forged massive high-precision aluminium components for the Large Hadron Collider particle accelerator at CERN. Photo: Imbach AG / CERN

Major research infrastructure construction projects (ITER, ESS and ESO) or upgrade projects (CERN and ESRF) are currently being carried out. Because of high Swiss labour costs and exchange rate issues, international competition in these common technology domains has been very intense. Nevertheless, international research infrastructures (IRIs) are also looking for specific high-tech products and world-class engineering solutions that Swiss industry is able to provide thanks to its culture of innovation and reliability.

The analysis of contracts recorded from the Swiss Industry Liaison Office (Swiss ILO) over the last few years suggests five fields of competence where Swiss industry is able to provide differentiated added value compared to international competition. Broadly speaking, the sector is mostly covered by SMEs. For historical reasons, some sectors tend to be stronger in some parts of the country.

Imbach2
Photo: Imbach AG / CERN

High-precision instruments

Switzerland’s reputation for high-precision instruments is undisputedly recognised worldwide. The historical know-how inherited from the watch industry spread to other segments such as Medtech, automotive and scientific instruments. Many IRIs work with Swiss SMEs because they are able to design and qualify high-precision instruments for a wide range of scientific equipment and sensors, which must operate in extremely harsh physical conditions.

Complex metalworking and machining

In the area of metalworking, Swiss industry possesses all of the engineering competence required to design and machine complex metal parts to IRI specifications. Swiss industry remains competitive for prototyping tasks or small series manufacturing, where high-precision machining of metal parts, based on sophisticated specifications or multi-physics engineering expertise, is required (complex welding, vacuum and high-radiation qualified, precise metrology control steps, etc…).

Power electronics

Swiss expertise in the area of high-powered electronics was notably inherited from the former Brown Boveri Company (BBC). The proximity of universities of applied sciences and the ETH ensures the availability of highly skilled electronics engineers. The resulting ecosystem of SMEs around Zurich is able to deliver solutions for many electro-mechanical systems in the industry. IRIs run high-energy physics devices, which invariably also require specifically designed high-power voltage equipment.

Optical & metrology systems

Extreme short-pulse lasers produced in Switzerland are used in particle accelerators. Swiss atomic clocks are used to synchronise very large radio telescope networks distributed around the globe. Best-of-class Swiss-made laser trackers are used to monitor the proper alignment of multi-ton metal components currently assembled on the ITER site. A large part of this engineering know-how is currently located in Eastern Switzerland, inherited from the former Leica factory in Heerbrugg (SG), where a dense regional network of SMEs specialised in high-standard optics components exists.

Vacuum and cryogenic systems

Many Swiss SMEs in this sector are found along the Rhine border with Liechtenstein, as spin-offs from the dismantled Balzers firm. They have a global reputation in the design and manufacturing of components required in the area of ultra-high vacuum systems (pumps, gauges, valves, bellows). Moreover, large helium plants are needed to cool down superconductive magnets ensembles at particle accelerator or fusion facilities: Switzerland hosts one of the only two market players capable of delivering helium compressor turbines and associated equipment at the required cooling power level.

Author

Michel Hübner
Swiss Industry Liaison Office

https://www.sbfi.admin.ch/content/sbfi/en/home/dienstleistungen/publikationen/publikationen-bestellen/s-n-2019-5/s-n-2019-5c.html

Le succès de la technologie de pointe des PME suisses

Infrastructures de recherche internationales

Imbach
Les contrats attribués par des organismes de recherche internationaux génèrent régulièrement des retombées positives pour l’industrie suisse. L’entreprise Imbach & Cie AG basée dans le canton de Lucerne a par exemple forgé des composants massifs en aluminium avec une haute précision destinés à l’accélérateur de particules «Large Hadron Collider» du CERN. Photo: Imbach AG / CERN

Des projets de construction (ITER, ESS et ESO) ou de mise à niveau de très grandes infrastructures de recherche (CERN et ESRF) sont actuellement en cours. En raison du coût du travail élevé en Suisse et du franc fort, la concurrence internationale est féroce dans ces domaines technologiques communs. Néanmoins, les infrastructures de recherche internationales (IRI) sont aussi en quête de produits high-tech spécifiques et de solutions d’ingénierie de classe mondiale, secteurs où l’industrie suisse, avec sa culture de l’innovation et de la fiabilité, se place parmi les meilleurs.

L’analyse des marchés consignés par le Swiss Industry Liaison Office (agent de liaison industriel, Swiss ILO) au cours des dernières années fait apparaître cinq domaines de compétence dans lesquels l’industrie suisse apporte une valeur ajoutée spécifique par rapport à la concurrence internationale. D’une manière générale, le tissu économique se compose majoritairement de petites et moyennes entreprises. Pour des raisons historiques, certains secteurs d’activité sont plus présents dans certaines régions du pays que dans d’autres.

Imbach2
Photo: Imbach AG / CERN

Mécanismes de haute précision

Ses compétences en mécanismes de haute précision sont reconnues dans le monde entier comme l’un des atouts incontestables de l’industrie suisse. Le savoir-faire historique hérité de l’industrie horlogère s’est diffusé dans d’autres secteurs tels que la Medtech, l’industrie automobile ou l’instrumentation scientifique. De nombreuses IRI tirent profit du savoir-faire des PME suisses pour concevoir et valider des mécanismes de haute précision pour leurs divers instruments et détecteurs scientifiques destinés à fonctionner dans des environnements physiques extrêmement difficiles.

Travail et usinage avancés des métaux

Pour ce qui concerne le travail des métaux, l’industrie suisse possède toutes les compétences en ingénierie requises pour concevoir et usiner les composants métalliques complexes exigés par les IRI. L’industrie suisse reste compétitive dans le domaine des tâches de prototypage et de la production en petites séries nécessitant l’usinage de pièces métalliques de haute précision avec des caractéristiques techniques très pointues ou un savoir-faire en ingénierie multiphysique (soudages complexes, systèmes de vide et champs de rayonnements élevés, étapes de contrôle métrologique précis, etc.).

Électronique de puissance

La Suisse a notamment hérité ses compétences en matière d’électronique de haute puissance de l’ancienne société Brown Boveri & Cie (BBC). La proximité des hautes écoles spécialisées et de l’ETH Zurich, où sont formés des ingénieurs en électronique de haut niveau, continue de faire vivre un écosystème de PME autour de Zurich, qui sont en mesure de fournir des solutions pour un large éventail de systèmes électro-mécaniques utilisés dans l’industrie. Les IRI utilisent des dispositifs physiques à haute énergie qui requièrent inévitablement des équipements à haute tension spécifiques.

Systèmes optiques et métrologiques

Des lasers à impulsions ultracourtes produits en Suisse sont utilisés dans des accélérateurs à particules. Des horloges atomiques suisses synchronisent des réseaux de radiotélescopes très importants répartis tout autour de la planète. Des appareils de poursuite laser de première qualité fabriqués en Suisse contrôlent l’alignement de composants métalliques de plusieurs tonnes en cours d’assemblage sur le site de l’ITER. Une grande partie de ce savoir-faire technique est aujourd’hui localisée en Suisse orientale. C’est un héritage de l’ancienne usine Leica à Heerbrugg (SG), où un réseau régional dense de PME spécialisées dans les composants optiques de haut niveau s’est implanté.

Systèmes de vide et cryogéniques

Beaucoup de PME suisses opérant dans ce secteur sont installées le long de la frontière du Rhin avec le Liechtenstein et sont des spin-offs de la société Balzers, aujourd’hui démantelée. Elles jouissent d’une renommée mondiale dans la conception et la fabrication de composants utilisés dans les systèmes d’ultravide (pompes, jauges, valves, soufflets). Des unités d’hélium de grande taille sont en outre nécessaires pour refroidir les modules d’aimants supraconducteurs de l’accélérateur de particules ou des installations de fusion. La Suisse accueille l’un des deux seuls acteurs du marché capables de fournir des turbines de compresseurs d’hélium et les équipements associés avec la puissance de refroidissement requise.

Auteur

Michel Hübner
Responsable Swiss Industry Liaison Office

https://www.sbfi.admin.ch/content/sbfi/fr/home/dienstleistungen/publikationen/publikationen-bestellen/s-n-2019-5/s-n-2019-5c.html