EMBL, European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Heidelberg

embl

© EMBL 

The European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) was established in 1974 by 10 founding member states, including Switzerland, which serves as the depositary state. The EMBL is part of a special project of the European Molecular Biology Conference (EMBC). The EMBL supports European cooperation in fundamental molecular biology research, provides the necessary infrastructure and contributes to the ongoing development of cutting-edge instruments and methods for modern biology.

Since then, 27 countries are members of the EMBL. The 10 founding countries (Austria, Denmark, France, Germany, Israel, Italy, the Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom) were joined by Finland (1984), Greece (1984), Norway (1985), Spain (1986), Belgium (1990), Portugal (1998), Ireland (2003), Iceland (2005), Croatia (2006), Luxembourg (2007), the Czech Republic (2014), Malta (2016), Hungary (2017), Slovakia (2018), Montenegro (2018), Poland (2019) and Lithuania (2019).

Thanks to its outstanding work, EMBL has become one of the world’s foremost molecular biology laboratories, recognised both in and outside of Europe. EMBL is home to over 80 independent research groups, which often work on an interdisciplinary basis. It provides researchers from member states with high quality services in areas such as microscopy, structural resolution and bioinformatics. These services are essential for maintaining a high level of research in Europe in the field of molecular biology. In addition to fundamental research and the development of new methods and techniques, one of EMBL's most important objectives is the training of young researchers. The EMBL contributes to the training of current and future European molecular biologists through its international doctoral programme, its postdoctoral programme and a large number of courses and workshops.

EMBL has over 1700 employees. The organisation’s headquarters is in Heidelberg, where around 800 researchers work. In addition to its headquarters, EMBL operates five dedicated research laboratories (outstations).
 
The epigenetics and neurobiology laboratory in Monterotondo (near Rome, Italy) is specialised in mouse genetics. This is also where the European Mutant Mouse Archives (EMMA) are located.
 
The two structural biology laboratories in Hamburg und Grenoble provide the EMBL and biologists from EMBL member states with access to x-ray radiation from the Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY) and the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF) as well as the neutron flux at the Institut Laue-Langevin (ILL).
 
Established in 2017, the tissue biology and disease-modelling laboratory in Barcelona is EMBL’s most recent outstation. Specialising in human biology, its purpose is to gain a clearer understanding of diseases.
 
The European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI) in Hinxton, Cambridgeshire, is home to Europe’s most important electronic database for biological information. EMBL-EBI develops and provides important archives and analysis tools for bioinformatics research. The headquarters of the European Life Sciences Infrastructure for Biological Information (ELIXIR) are located right next to the EMBL-EBI. Founded in 2014, this intergovernmental organisation is the result of a special project launched by EMBL. Switzerland is also a member of ELIXIR.

Swiss participation

The scientific community in Switzerland was very actively involved in the creation of EMBL and has always supported it and gained many benefits as a result. Switzerland contributes 4.22% of the EMBL's annual budget of around EUR 115 million. The corresponding funding allocation is included in the budget of the State Secretariat for Education, Research and Innovation (SERI).

Further information

Contact

SERI, Doris Wohlfender
Head of the Swiss delegation to the EMBL Council
T+41 58 465 12 26

Prof. Anna Jazwinska Müller
Scientific delegate representing Switzerland

SERI, Laurent Salzarulo
Swiss Representative to the EMBL Finance Committee
T +41 58 483 95 87

Print contact

https://www.sbfi.admin.ch/content/sbfi/en/home/themen/internationale-forschungs--und-innovationszusammenarbeit/beteiligung-der-schweiz-an-internationalen-forschungsorganisatio/embl.html

EMBL, Laboratoire européen de biologie moléculaire, Heidelberg

embl

© EMBL 

Le Laboratoire européen de biologie moléculaire (EMBL) a été fondé en 1974 dans le cadre d’un projet spécial de la Conférence européenne de biologie moléculaire (EMBC) par 10 États, dont la Suisse en tant qu’État dépositaire. L’EMBL encourage la coopération européenne dans le domaine de la recherche fondamentale en biologie moléculaire, met à disposition les infrastructures nécessaires et participe au développement continu d’une instrumentation avancée et de méthodes scientifiques au service de la biologie moderne.

Aujourd’hui, l’EMBL compte 27 États membres: aux côtés des États fondateurs, l’Autriche, le Danemark, la France, l’Allemagne, Israël, l’Italie, les Pays-Bas, la Suède, la Suisse et le Royaume-Uni sont venus s’ajoutés la Finlande, la Grèce, la Norvège, l’Espagne, la Belgique, l’Irlande, la Croatie, le Luxembourg, la République Tchèque, Malte, la Hongrie, la Slovaquie, le Monténégro, la Pologne et la Lituanie.

Grâce à son travail remarquable, l’EMBL s’est imposé comme l’un des meilleurs laboratoires de biologie moléculaire au monde et est également reconnu en tant que tel hors de l’Europe. Il réunit plus de 80 groupes de recherche indépendants, travaillant souvent sur une base interdisciplinaire, et fournit aux chercheurs des États membres des prestations de services de haute qualité, notamment dans les domaines de la microscopie, de la biologie structurale et de la bioinformatique. Ces prestations de services constituent une contribution essentielle au maintien en Europe d’une recherche de haut niveau dans le domaine de la biologie moléculaire. Outre l’encouragement de la recherche fondamentale et le développement de nouvelles méthodes et techniques, la formation de la relève scientifique est également l’un des principaux objectifs de l’EMBL. Ainsi, l’EMBL contribue à la formation des biologistes moléculaires européens actuels et futurs en proposant un programme international de doctorat et un programme postdoctoral, ainsi qu’en organisant de nombreux cours et ateliers.

L’EMBL emploie plus de 1700 personnes et a son siège principal à Heidelberg, où travaillent environ 800 chercheurs. En plus de son siège principal, l’EMBL compte cinq antennes.

Les activités de l’antenne de Monterotondo, près de Rome, se concentrent sur la génétique de la souris. Le European Mutant Mouse Archives (EMMA) se trouve au même endroit.

Deux antennes, à Hambourg et à Grenoble, permettent à l’EMBL et aux biologistes des pays membres de profiter des faisceaux de rayons X du synchrotron DESY (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron) et de l’ESRF (European Synchrotron Radiation Facility), de même que des flux de neutrons de l’ILL (Institut von Laue-Langevin).

Les activités de l’antenne la plus récente, ouverte à Barcelone en 2017, sont consacrées à la biologie humaine, notamment dans l’optique d’acquérir une meilleure compréhension du développement des maladies.

L’antenne de Hinxton, près de Cambridge, gère, sous le nom European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI), les plus importantes banques de données électroniques européennes pour la biologie moléculaire et abrite des archives de recherche dans le domaine de la bioinformatique. Le siège d’ELIXIR, une organisation internationale active dans le domaine de la bioinformatique, est situé juste à côté de l’EBI. ELIXIR a été fondée en 2014 dans le cadre d’un «projet spécial» de l’EMBL. La Suisse en est également membre.

Participation suisse

Étroitement associée à la fondation du Laboratoire, la communauté scientifique suisse n’a cessé de soutenir une organisation dont elle retire tous les bénéfices énumérés plus haut. La Suisse contribue à 3,95% du budget annuel de l’EMBL de près de 110 millions €. Le crédit correspondant est géré par le Secrétariat d’État à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation SEFRI.

Informations complémentaires

Contact

SEFRI, Doris Wohlfender

Cheffe de la délégation suisse au Conseil d’EMBL
T+41 58 465 12 26

Prof. Anna Jazwinska Müller

Déléguée scientifique pour la Suisse

SEFRI, Laurent Salzarulo

Représentant suisse au Comité financier d’EMBL
T +41 58 483 95 87

Imprimer contact

https://www.sbfi.admin.ch/content/sbfi/fr/home/themen/internationale-forschungs--und-innovationszusammenarbeit/beteiligung-der-schweiz-an-internationalen-forschungsorganisatio/embl.html